Linking: Articles (A, An, The)

Linking is used by American speakers during conversation.  It is essentially connecting words by having NO pauses between them.  We do this in thought groups, or phrases.  Sounds complicated, right?  No worries, start with this quick and easy tip. Link articles to the following noun.  Do this by not pausing between the article and the noun.  Say it as if they become one word.  If I say “the cat”, it sounds like “thecat”.  If I say “the cat and the dog”, it would sound like “thecat and thedog”. This will greatly improve your intonation.  Try it…people will notice a difference.

FREE CLASS: Introduction to Intonation

  Learn how to improve your speaking clarity in American English with intonation.   Watch the 1/2 hour class and follow along with handouts below. HANDOUTS:  Intonation YouTube Handouts  

Upcoming FREE class: Introduction to Intonation in American English

Join me for a FREE, live, YouTube event on Friday, June 5 from 7:30-8 PM US Central Time:  Introduction to Intonation in American English  Learn how to improve your speaking clarity in American English with intonation.  Handouts will be available after class at www.tarlespeech.com. Hope to see you there!   Time conversions: Chicago (U.S.A. – Illinois) Friday, June 5, 2015 at 7:30:00 PM Tokyo (Japan) Saturday, June 6, 2015 at 9:30:00 AM JST Paris (France) Saturday, June 6, 2015 at 2:30:00 AM CEST Delhi (India – Delhi) Saturday, June 6, 2015 at 6:00:00 AM IST Canberra (Australia – Australian Capital Territory) Saturday, June 6, 2015 at 10:30:00 AM AEST Find your city

Quick tip: intonation

Intonation is very important to get your message across.  If you don’t know where to start, try this quick tip: Stress the most important words.  These words need to be pronounced perfectly and be: 1. louder 2. higher (pitch) 3. longer (focus on making the vowels longer) Other words are not stressed and spoken faster, so if they aren’t perfect that is OK. Try it, people will notice the difference!

© 2017 Tarle Speech & Language. All rights reserved.